Persistence

Moulding into the background will get you nowhere… Maybe unless you’re part of a choir?

We all know that industry experience is hard to come by.
This is no different in the radio industry with Jobs being cut left, right and centre.

For students, knowing that at the end of their time in University, they will have to attempt to get a job from their degree they’ve worked so hard for is more daunting than ever before.

Here’s the catch 22.

To get a job in any industry – most of the time they ask for previous experience in the field
BUT
Lately, there are rarely any opportunities – therefore most people struggle to get a job because of the lack of experience.

I’ve been lucky enough to know what I’ve wanted to do from an earlier age so have a lot of experience under my belt. [Not boasting just stating] I haven’t been alone on this journey though and I have a lot of people to be thankful for! [They know exactly who they are!]

In March, I get to spend a week at Real Radio Wales which will be a brilliant experience!
It hasn’t been easy to get the experience opportunity though, as I know fore-well these opportunities are hard to come by.

[Recently, GMG announced they are making some redundancies within the news department.]

I’ve had to persist to get the opportunity but that’s a message I’d echo to many…

Persistence!

You might make one contact – send them an email enquiring about work experience – you might get accepted? Congratulations! BUT You might get declined. If you get declined it does not stop you from following up the rejection email a couple of weeks later seeing if more opportunities arise!

Good Luck!